Welcome to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles’ portal for obtaining official Florida law enforcement agency crash reports.
Crash reports that reveal the identity, home or employment telephone number or home or employment address of, or other personal information concerning the parties involved in the crash are confidential and exempt from disclosure per s. 316.066(2)(a), Fla. Stat. Access to crash reports containing personal information is limited to listed parties and entities only per s. 316.066(2)(b), Fla. Stat. Obtaining or attempting to obtain confidential information to which you are not entitled is a felony violation per s. 316.066(3)(c), Fla. Stat.
Crash reports held by an agency under s. 316.066(2)(a), Fla. Stat., may be made immediately available to the parties involved in the crash, their legal representatives, their licensed insurance agents, their insurers or insurers to which they have applied for coverage, persons under contract with such insurers to provide claims or underwriting information, victim services programs and any local, state, or federal agency, or any private person or entity acting on behalf of a federal, state, or local governmental agency in carrying out its functions, and those authorized under s. 316.066(2)(c ), Fla. Stat.
Crash reports which do not contain the home or employment street addresses, driver license or identification card numbers, dates of birth, and home and employment telephone numbers of the parties involved in the crash shall also be made immediately available to radio and television stations licensed by the FCC and newspapers qualified to publish legal notices under ss. 50.011 and 50.031, Fla. Stat.
After 60 days the crash report is filed, the crash report may be made available to any person or entity eligible to access crash reports under 316.066(2)(b), Fla. Stat., or in accordance with any of the permissible uses listed in the Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA), 18 U.S.C. s. 2721(b) and pursuant to the resale and redisclosure requirements in 18 U.S.C. s. 2721(c).
In order to obtain a crash report, you must pay the statutorily required fee of $10.00 per report, plus an additional $2.00 convenience fee for each payment transaction (section 321.23, Florida Statutes). Customers are limited to a maximum of 10 reports per transaction.
- Reports become available online immediately, and must be downloaded within 48 hours of the request.
- A download link will be sent to the email address provided at the time of request.
- Crash reports are provided as a Zip file containing PDF files.
- Search results may not contain reports on crashes which occurred within the last 10 days. Pursuant to Florida statute, law enforcement agencies have 10 days to submit crash reports.
The following forms of payment are accepted for online transactions:
- Please be advised that all online payment transactions will include a non-refundable $2.00 convenience fee.